Posted by: noorul | June 4, 2008

Compile issues with ieee80211 and ipw2200 on linux kernel 2.6.25.

The latest version of iee80211 (ieee80211-1.2.18) and ipw220 (ipw2200-1.2.2) are not compiling properly on the latest linux kernel 2.6.25.3.

I got the following error when I compiled ipw2200 on my laptop.

/home/noorul/software/ipw2200/ipw2200-1.2.2/ipw2200.c: In function ‘ipw_pci_probe’:
/home/noorul/software/ipw2200/ipw2200-1.2.2/ipw2200.c:11937: error: implicit declaration of function ‘SET_MODULE_OWNER’

In my case I was able to find out a solution from some other project. But there is a patch in the bug database. Here is the link http://www.intellinuxwireless.org/bugzilla/attachment.cgi?id=1378

But in the case of iee80211, I couldn’t find a straight forward solution. But the following steps helped me. There were several errors across multiple files.

1. I had to make changes to ieee80211_module.c. Here is the patched file.

ieee80211_module.c

2. Then the files ieee80211_crypt_wep.c, ieee80211_crypt_tkip.c

ieee80211_crypt_wep.c
ieee80211_crypt_tkip.c

Once I made the above changes, I followed the normal compilation procedure and everything worked fine. Posting this one through wireless internet connection.

Responses

  1. i managed to followed all ur instructions and made some changes to it…

    now i get this error msg: (any idea?)

    /home/monkey/ieee80211-1.2.18/ieee80211_crypt_wep.c: In function ‘prism2_wep_encrypt’:
    /home/monkey/ieee80211-1.2.18/ieee80211_crypt_wep.c:190: error: ‘struct scatterlist’ has no member named ‘page’
    /home/monkey/ieee80211-1.2.18/ieee80211_crypt_wep.c: In function ‘prism2_wep_decrypt’:
    /home/monkey/ieee80211-1.2.18/ieee80211_crypt_wep.c:238: error: ‘struct scatterlist’ has no member named ‘page’
    make[2]: *** [/home/monkey/ieee80211-1.2.18/ieee80211_crypt_wep.o] Error 1
    make[1]: *** [_module_/home/monkey/ieee80211-1.2.18] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.24-18-generic’
    make: *** [modules] Error 2

  2. I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!! THANKS FOR THESE PATCHS!

  3. Nice. Thanks!

  4. at, this patch will fix the error you have
    http://tuttleresearch.com/80211patch

  5. I also LOVE YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!! THANKS FOR THESE PATCHS!

  6. This works, thanks!
    I also had a problem compiling ipw2200 version 1.2.0 (I use kernel 2.6.26). Solution that worked for me is to use 1.2.2 and also modify a header file according to:
    http://www.intellinuxwireless.org/bugzilla/attachment.cgi?id=1378

  7. I tried your patches and got the following errors.

    File to patch: ./ieee80211_crypt_wep.c
    patching file ./ieee80211_crypt_wep.c
    patch: **** malformed patch at line 11: @@ -241,15 +235,9 @@

    File to patch: ieee80211_crypt_tkip.c
    patching file ieee80211_crypt_tkip.c
    patch: **** malformed patch at line 18: @@ -517,15 +512,9 @@

  8. In the case of an opponent who is an exceptionally decent and clean-living man, it requires destroying him with lies. ,

  9. thank you so much!!

  10. Please email me with a few hints & tips about how you made this blog site look this good, I would appreciate it!

  11. Im having a teeny issue. I cant get my reader to pick-up your feed, Im using google reader by the way.

  12. Just to let you know your webpage looks a little bit different in Firefox on my notebook with Linux .

  13. When I open up your Feed it seems to be a lot of junk, is the issue on my part?

  14. I have got one suggestion for your weblog. It appears like at this time there are a few cascading stylesheet troubles when launching a number of webpages inside google chrome and opera. It is running okay in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check this.

  15. fairly useful material, in general I imagine this is worthy of a book mark, many thanks

  16. You need to really moderate the remarks at this site

  17. I Will have to return again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am getting your Feed so i can read your internet site offline. Thanks.

  18. I experimented with looking at your blog in my blackberry and the structure doesnt seem to be right. Might want to check it out on WAP as well as it seems most mobile phone layouts are not working with your website.

  19. I have got one suggestion for your web page. It seems like right now there are a number of cascading stylesheet issues when opening a selection of web pages within google chrome and safari. It is working alright in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check this.

  20. Strange , your site shows up with a dark hue to it, what shade is the primary color on your web-site?

  21. Have you considered including several social bookmarking links to these sites. At the very least for twitter.

  22. I Am Going To have to visit again whenever my course load lets up – however I am taking your Feed so i can go through your blog offline. Thanks.

  23. Is it alright to place a portion of this in my site if I post a reference to this web site?

  24. I had been curious about if you ever considered adjusting the page layout of your website? Its very well written; I enjoy what youve got to state. But maybe you could include a little more in the way of content so people might connect with it better. Youve got a great deal of text for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  25. This blog site has a lot of really helpful info on it! Cheers for sharing it with me.

  26. I Will have to visit again whenever my course load lets up – nonetheless I am taking your Rss feed so i can read your web blog offline. Thanks.

  27. How come you dont have your web site viewable in mobile format? cant see anything in my iPad.

  28. You should really moderate the commentary on this website

  29. How do you make a blog site look this sick. Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id appreciate it!

  30. Do youve a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your situation; weve developed some nice techniques and we are searching to exchange solutions with other individuals, be positive to shoot me an e-mail if serious.

  31. Even though I truly like this post, I think there was an spelling error near towards the finish of the third paragraph.

  32. I adore the site layout ! How was it made. It is so cool.

  33. It appears to me that this site doesnt download on a Motorola Droid. Are other people getting the same issue? I like this blog and dont want to have to miss it any time Im gone from my computer.

  34. Jesus Christ there is a lot of spammy feedback on this webpage. Have you at any time thought about trying to remove them or installing a plugin?

  35. I believe one of your ads triggered my web browser to resize, you may well want to get that on your blacklist.

  36. Jesus Christ theres plenty of spammy comments on this web page. Have you actually believed about attempting to remove them or putting in a plugin?


Categories

